BIOGRAPHIE



clayandrew

Commandes publiques

2017  St. Andrew, Pêcheur des Hommes. La Cathédral, Plymouth.
2016   Richard Hale. Lycée Richard Hale, Hertford.
2015  St. Edmund d'Abingdon. L'université de Cambridge.
2013 – 14  Le Don. Les hopitaux de Chichester et Worthing.
2013 – 14   Alfred Russel Wallace. Hertford.
2011  St. Edmund d'Abingdon. St. Edmund’s College, Ware.
2006 - 7  St. Edmund d'Abingdon. Oxford University.
2003 - 4 Europe et le Torreau. Wyeth Europa Pharmaceuticals, Maidenhead.

Courtes Listes

2009  St. George et le Dragon. Le Cathédral de Perth, Australie.
2005  Murs et portes en cuivre. The Grand Opera House, Belfast.

Commandes privées

Numéreux à l'échelle mondiale.

Prix

2017 Invité d'honneur.  Salon International des Arts, Zillisheim
2017 La médaille de la sculpture la plus appréciée par les jeunes au 23ème Salon D’art du Colombier, St Arnoult-en-Yvelines, France.
2005 La médaille d'or de la sculpture au 11ème Salon D’Art du Colombier.
2006 La médaille de la sculpture la plus appréciée par les jeunes au 12ème Salon D’art du Colombier.
2007 La médaille bronze de la sculpture au 13ème Salon D’Art du Colombier.
2010 The Mayor's Prize, Hertford Art Society Open Exhibition.

Expositions

Expositions en solo:

Galerie du Lycée Gabriel Fauré, Foix, Ariege, France (2016)
St. Edmund Hall, Oxford (2009)
Galerie Art Present, Rue Quincampoix, Beaubourg, Paris (2007)
Gallery 27, Cork Street, Mayfair. Londres (2005)
Oxmarket Gallery, Chichester (2005)

Expositions conjoints:

St George’s Sculpture Project Exhibition, Perth, Australie (2009)
Salon D’Art du Colombier, St. Arnoult-en-Yvelines (2005-7, 2010, 2017)
Sculpture in Paradise, Chichester Festivities (2004-5, 2010)
Limehouse Gallery, Londres, Summer and Winter Shows (2009-10)
Hertford Art Society Open Exhibition (2010-11)
Woburn Abbey (2010)
Encounters Exhibition, Hatfield House (2008)
CLA Game Fair, Blenheim Palace, Oxon (2008)
London International Horse Show, Olympia, Londres (2007)
Newnham Paddox Art Park, Warwickshire (2006)
The Chelsea Flower Show, Londres (1994-2004)
Hampton Court Flower Show, Londres (1993-2003)
Journees des Plantes , Chateau de Courson, France (1999-2000)


Galeries qui présentent actuellement des travaux

Whittington Fine Art, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire.
Jeremy Barlow Fine Art, Saxlingham, Holt, Norfolk.

Exposés, démonstrations, ateliers

Nombreux aux écoles et societées d'arts.

Publications
The Myth of the Artist (The Salisbury Review 2005).

Niveau d'études
MA (L'Universitée d'Oxford) La langue et litéreture Anglais.



Déclaration d'Artiste

Les gens ont tendance à penser que mon travail relève de l’ « impressionnisme » en raison de ce modelé qui vise à montrer comment je travaille l'argile, mais aussi à laisser une possibilité d’ouverture à l'imaginaire du spectateur. Malgré une influence évidente des sculpteurs tels que Rodin, Dalou et surtout Daumier, la ressemblance n'est qu'une coïncidence,  ma plus grande dette est envers Michel-Ange ; celui-ci a bien sûr lui aussi influencé les artistes sus-cités. Le moment le plus formateur dont j’ai le souvenir se passe dans la chapelle des Médicis, lorsque j'étais devant la statue "Crépuscule" de Michel-Ange me demandant pourquoi il me semblait qu'elle respirait. J'en ai conclu que cet effet venait de deux causes : la création consciente de rythmes internes et une instabilité dans une pose essentiellement statique. Un des problèmes de l'art figuratif moderne provient de l'influence de la photographie qui, en figeant l'instant, nous a appris comment se déroulait le mouvement  mais paradoxalement nous a amené vers un art qui peut sembler « mort », sans mouvement, ni ressenti. Lorsque l’on essaie de représenter le mouvement dans son objectivité, toute l'énergie se perd. Il me semble que le travail de Michel-Ange est plein de vie à cause de la représentation d'une énergie potentielle et non d’une énergie cinétique.  De plus, l'Art Moderne a été influencé par le Primitivisme or l'art primitif est dans la plupart des cas statique. En allant à l'encontre de la tradition classique, le mouvement a perdu cette impression de rythme interne qui a été  une découverte si importante de la Renaissance.
Le plus souvent mon travail est une œuvre de commande car je valorise la relation entre l'artiste et le client. Les deux cent dernières années, la liberté artistique et "l'expression de soi" ont été des attitudes dominantes, les artistes se sont sentis plus importants que de simples artisans. Mais la valeur de l'expression de soi est peut-être surestimée.  Comme l'a dit St Chrysostom, « l'esprit humain est comme un copeau de bois, enroulé autour de son vide intérieur ». L'avis des autres est vital pour que la pensée se produise. Une proximité trop étroite à sa propre création peut être semblable à l'arbre qui nous cache la forêt. Les artistes ont toujours su qu'il fallait s'éloigner de son propre travail, en avoir une nouvelle perspective, parfois même en le regardant dans un miroir. Mais il n'y a aucune autre perspective plus révélatrice que celle du regard d'un autre. Travailler avec les autres et être défié par leurs idées est un moyen de progresser dans ses propres pensées. C’est pourquoi cette relation entre artiste et client est extrêmement précieuse pour l'artiste. Sans cette relation Michel-Ange n'aurait pas peint le plafond de la Chapelle Sixtine. Personnellement, sans elle, je n'aurais pas non plus entrepris la plupart des pièces que j'ai produites. Ainsi, mon premier amour est pour la forme humaine mais ça aurait été une grande perte  de ne pas avoir vécu le plaisir d'être  animalier.

Ces dernières années, j'ai eu la chance d'avoir un nombre grandissant de commandes publiques et mon respect pour ce processus a grandi. Dans ce cadre, j'ai dû non seulement échanger avec des individus mais aussi avec des communautés. Je suis maintenant convaincu que l'art le plus précieux est celui qui est une création conjointe de l'artiste et de la société dans laquelle, et pour  laquelle, il travaille.


            
Acceuil


Copyright © 2014 by Rodney Munday

ABOUT


clayandrew

Public / Corporate Commissions
2017  St. Andrew the Fisherman. Plymouth Minster.
2016   Richard Hale.  Richard Hale School, Hertford.
2015  St. Edmund of Abingdon. Cambridge University.
2013 – 14  The Gift. Chichester and Worthing hospitals.
2013 – 14   Alfred Russel Wallace. Hertford.
2011  St. Edmund of Abingdon. St. Edmund’s College, Ware.
2006 - 7  St. Edmund of Abingdon. Oxford University.
2003 - 4  Europa & the Bull. Wyeth Europa Pharmaceuticals, Maidenhead.

Shortlistings
2009  St. George & the Dragon. Perth Cathedral, Australia.
2005  Copper wall and doors for the Grand Opera House, Belfast.

Private Commissions
Numerous worldwide.

Awards
2017 Invité d'honneur Salon International des Arts, Zillisheim
2017 Medal for the sculpture most popular with children at the 23rd  Salon D’art du Colombier, St Arnoult-en-Yvelines, France.
2005 Gold Medal for Sculpture at the 11th Salon D’Art du Colombier.
2006 Medal for the sculpture most popular with children at the 12th Salon D’art du Colombier.
2007 Bronze Medal for Sculpture at the 13th Salon D’Art du Colombier.
2010 The Mayor’s Prize, Hertford Art Society Open Exhibition.

Exhibitions
Solo Exhibitions:
Galerie du Lycée Gabriel Fauré, Foix, Ariege, France (2016)
St. Edmund Hall, Oxford (2009)
Galerie Art Present, Rue Quincampoix, Beaubourg, Paris (2007)
Gallery 27, Cork Street, Mayfair (2005)
Oxmarket Gallery, Chichester (2005)

Joint Exhibitions:
St George’s Sculpture Project Exhibition, Perth, Australia (2009)
Salon D’Art du Colombier, St. Arnoult-en-Yvelines (2005-7, 2010, 2017)
Sculpture in Paradise, Chichester Festivities (2004-5, 2010)
Limehouse Gallery, London, Summer and Winter Shows (2009-10)
Hertford Art Society Open Exhibition (2010-11)
Woburn Abbey (2010)
Encounters Exhibition, Hatfield House (2008)
CLA Game Fair, Blenheim Palace, Oxon (2008)
London International Horse Show, Olympia, London (2007)
Newnham Paddox Art Park, Warwickshire (2006)
The Chelsea Flower Show (1994-2004)
Hampton Court Flower Show (1993-2003)
Journees des Plantes , Chateau de Courson, France (1999-2000)

Galleries currently exhibiting work
Whittington Fine Art, Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire.
Jeremy Barlow Fine Art, Saxlingham, Holt, Norfolk.

Talks, Demonstrations, Workshops
Numerous to schools and societies.

Publications
The Myth of the Artist qv (The Salisbury Review 2005).

Educational qualification
MA (Oxon) English Language & Literature

Artist statement:

People tend to think of my work as “impressionistic” because of its finish, in which I wish to show the way in which the clay is worked, and also to leave its completion to the imagination of the spectator. Although I have undoubtedly been influenced by sculptors such as Rodin, Dalou, and more importantly, Daumier, the similarity is a chance one, and my greatest debt is to Michelangelo, who of course also influenced them. One of my most formative memories is standing in front of his sculpture of Evening in the Medici chapel, and wondering why it seemed to me to breathe. I concluded that it arose from two causes; the conscious creation of internal rhythms, and instability within an essentially static pose. One of the problems of modern figurative art has been the influence of photography, which by freezing the moment has taught us how movement takes place; but it has led to an art which can be lifeless. Where movement is everything; when the attempt is to depict it at its summit, the energy is already spent. The moment before energy is released is far more powerful, and it seems to me that Michelangelo’s work is full of life because he depicts potential rather than kinetic energy. Additionally, much modern art has been influenced by Primitivism, and much primitive art is static. In reacting against the classical tradition, the movement lost that sense of internal rhythm which was such an important discovery of the Renaissance.

Most of my work is to commission, because I value the artist client relationship. Over the past two hundred years, artistic freedom and “self-expression” have dominated attitudes, and artists have felt themselves to be more important than employed craftsmen. But the value of self-expression can be overestimated. As St. Chrysostom said, the human soul is like a wood-shaving, coiled round its inner emptiness. Input from others is imperative for thought to take place. Too close a proximity to one’s own creation can easily prevent one seeing the wood for the trees. Artists have always known that they have to stand back from their work, and sometimes, to get a fresh perspective, they will look at it in a mirror. But there is no different perspective more revealing than the perspective of someone else. Working with others and being challenged by their ideas is a way of progressing one’s own thoughts, and one which makes the relationship between artist and client supremely valuable for the artist. Were it not for that relationship, Michelangelo would not have painted the Sistine ceiling. Personally, I would not have considered undertaking many of the works which I have produced. My first love is for the human form, but it would have been a loss not to have experienced the pleasure of being an animalier.

In recent years, where I have had the good fortune to gain an increasing number of public commissions, my respect for the commissioning process has increased. I have had to relate to and interact with not just individual but community involvement, and I have become convinced that the most valuable art is a joint creation of the artist and the society in which and for which he works.

              

Home


Copyright © 2014 by Rodney Munday